Someone knows how I feel.

Favorite in the Family

Dear Grandpa,

Well, my wedding day is nine days away.  A lot of people never thought I would get to this point, but I think you knew I was just waiting for the right guy.  I wish you would have known him.  You would have loved him, and I think you would have been his favorite in the family.  Grandma currently holds that position.

I always wanted it to be you to walk me down the aisle.  You were the only father figure I had.  I’m not mad, or disappointed.  It was your time to go, and I know you’re at peace now.  I never told you about this because I never wanted you to hang in there just for me.  I know you’ll be there anyway.

I just wanted to say that it’s a hectic time right now, but you’re in my heart.  Oh, and give Mom strength.  She’s getting more neurotic than usual.

Love you,
Jer, age 26

 

I don’t know who this person is, I don’t know when they wrote this or how it got on the internet, but i want to thank them [and Sarah for showing it to me]. I know exactly how they feel, except my wedding is 335 days away, not 9. And i could only image how i’m going to feel when my wedding is only 9 days away.

 

One thought on “Someone knows how I feel.

  1. Reading this made me think of my own grandpa who passed away about 4 years ago now. My grandfather meant so much to me and I find that all it takes is a song, a television show, sometimes a scent to completely break me down into tears. He never saw me graduate college, will never know I got a teaching job, never know when I get engaged or know him, never see my own children… it breaks my heart. However, I’ve grown more and more comfortable with the idea that any God who is truly as loving as I believe will let him be there for the big days, even if not in flesh, in spirit 🙂

    Moral of my babbling: Thanks for reminding me of my grandpa and wherever he is, I hope that he can meet with yours 🙂

Leave a Reply

